Skip to main content
tip411       school tool       facebook       twitter       youtube

Click here for COVID Resources Site

North Syracuse schools - click for home

Smith Road Elementary School Kicks-Off the Year with Character Education Assembly

Students and staff at Smith Road Elementary School were excited to kick off their Character Education campaign this past week during the school’s first full assembly in almost two years! To bring students together safely, an outdoor gathering was help on Wednesday, Sept. 29, which turned out to be a beautiful, sunny, fall day.
Five 4th grade student leaders directed the assembly along with Principal Lyndsey Maloney and Music Teacher Rebecca Hall. The student leaders, who were chosen for that role because they had all demonstrated positive character traits, had the job of teaching other students about those traits:
  • Responsibility
  • Honesty
  • Character
  • Respect
The student leaders discussed what each trait meant to them and talked about ways the younger students could also demonstrate the behaviors and model kindness. Principal Maloney talked about how the students could earn “Star Cards” for good character and have their names read aloud on the school’s morning program, the “Shark Show.”
During the assembly, the students had the opportunity to recite the “Pledge of Allegiance” and the school’s shark motto together. The younger students were enthusiastic about the possibility of being recognized for having good character and also at the idea of someday becoming 4th grade leaders. Throughout the assembly, there were cheers and applause and lots of smiles. The school’s mascot, Smitty the Shark, joined in the fun at the end of the assembly and helped rally students around the idea of good character.
We’re excited to see what great things will happen at Smith Road Elementary School this year!
Smith Road Elementary School’s 4th Grade leaders are pictured (left to right) with Smitty the Shark and Music Teacher Rebecca Hall: Seth Gilbert, Abigail Schumacher, Ariel Thorton, Olivia Ashmus and Owen Murphy.