Skip to main content
North Syracuse - click for home

C-NS DECA Meets the Challenge and has Regional Success

The 2020-2021 Regional DECA competition was held virtually throughout the month of December.  Region 9 DECA’s membership this year consisted of more than 200 students from seven high schools across Central New York along with North Syracuse Junior High School. The high schools competing this year included: Phoenix, Liverpool, Solvay, Central Square, East Syracuse-Minoa, Skaneateles, and Cicero-North Syracuse High School. 

Each year, the competition includes future marketing/management leaders’ events consisting of a 100-question college level marketing/management test. This year, because of social distancing requirements, students took the test online and performed/recorded an online role-play with a member of the business community.

This year's role-play requiremtns presented some unique challenges, with students only having limited access to the role-play online and then having limited time to generate solutions, videotape their responses, and upload videos for the judges. Students had limited access to presentation materials and were required to record their presentations while wearing business attire.

Pictured are C-NS DECA Officers Andrew & Angel Luangaphay
Students from Cicero-North Syracuse High School won 10 first place awards, 5 second place awards, and 4 third place awards.  Below is a list of the winners and their events: 

First Place Winners
Ava Field – Business Finance
Giovanni Heater – Sports & Entertainment
Kadin Cochran – Entrepreneurship Team
Logan Mussi – Entrepreneurship Team
Allison Newton – Buying & Merchandising
Hannah Reichard – Buying & Merchandising
Alicia Tow – Hotel & Lodging
Dominic Musumeci – Principles of Finance
Riley Kawola – Travel & Tourism Team
Maggie Middleton – Travel & Tourism Team
Second Place Winners
DJ Villnave – Business Finance
Jaiden Asch – Entrepreneurship Series
Amelia Dwyer – Marketing Communications
Matthew Ragonese – Personal Financial Literacy
Kate Capone – Principles of Hospitality
Third Place Winners
Joseph Bowen – Hotel & Lodging
Olivia Sauta – Entrepreneurship Series
Bryn Myers – Marketing Communications
Gabriella Svoboda – Retail Merchandising