Skip to main content
tip411       school tool       facebook       twitter       youtube

Click here for COVID Resources Site

North Syracuse schools - click for home

Six Students Advance to January 25 Written Spelling Bee

On Thursday, December 5, thirty-six students from North Syracuse Junior High School, Roxboro Road Middle School and Gillette Road Middle school gathered at the North Syracuse Central School District Administrative Office to compete in a district-wide spelling bee. The talented youth from grades five through eight were challenged with a variety of words ranging from simple spellings such as “profile" and "barrier” to more difficult spellings such as “therapeutic.” All students came to this competition after completing written and oral exams within their schools.
The competition ended with the correct spellings of the words “premises” and “accustomed” by Sadie Ritholz from Gillette Road Middle School. Finishing in second place was Aya Hussein from Gillette Road Middle School and in third was Nicholas Capece from North Syracuse Junior HIgh School. 
The top six competitors from the district spelling bee will advance to a written spelling bee to be held on January 25, 2020 at Christian Brothers Academy. Those finalists are:
  1. Sadie Ritholz – Gillette Road Middle School
  2. Aya Hussein – Gillette Road Middle School
  3. Nicholas Capece – North Syracuse Junior High School
  4. Leah Noel – Gillette Road Middle School
  5. Aiden Hanas – North Syracuse Junior High School
  6. Chris Ortloff – Gillette Road Middle School
The top three winners are pictured above with Dr. Christopher Leahey, North Syracuse Central School Distict Associate Superintendent for Teaching and Learning. 

The complete list of this year’s competitors includes:
From Gillette Road Middle School – James Baldwin (6th grade), Sam Budihardjo (6th grade), Adrianna Calabria (7th grade), Kellan Empey (5th grade), Aya Hussein (6th grade), Donovan Keener (6th grade), Isiah Maglente (5th grade), Megan Meives (7th grade), Leah Noel (7th grade), Chris Ortloff  (7th grade), Bailey Ottman (5th grade), Gabriella Pinoargotte (7th grade), Jakob Purdy (7th grade), Sadie Ritholz (7th grade), Ethan Turner (7th grade), John Wilkins (7th grade) and Max Wike (5th grade).
From Roxboro Road Middle School – Sean Aldrich (7th grade), Natalie Brushell (7th grade), Anthony J. Ciciarelli (7th grade), Sydney Dailey (6th grade), Michael Downey III (7th grade), Brigid Gill (6th grade), Natalie Hardenburgh (5th grade), Riley Hopp (7th grade), Devlin House (5th grade), Joshua Maarshall (5th grade), Regan Phillips (6th grade), Jayson Simard (6th grade), William Walker (5th grade), Olivia Wiechmann (6th grade) and Meghan Woodworth (6th grade).
From North Syracuse Junior High School – Isabella Borte (8th grade), Nicholas Capece (8th grade), Aiden Hanas (8th grade) and Shannon Loughlin (8th grade).