Skip to main content
tip411       school tool       facebook       twitter       youtube

Click here for COVID Resources Site

North Syracuse schools - click for home

C-NS students take top honors in local photo contest

The 10th Annual Bousquet Holstein High School Photography Contest is open to high school photography students in Onondaga County. Each year, the contest is inspired by the theme of an upcoming exhibit at the Everson Museum of Art. This year’s theme was centered around the 50th Anniversary of the Everson Museum of Art - which was designed by internationally acclaimed architect I.M. Pei.

Students in Mrs. Blaski’s Intermediate and Advanced Photography classes at Cicero-North Syracuse High School took pictures over the summer for the photography contest entitled “Architecture: The Mirror of Life”. Students were asked to capture photographs of architecture from different perspectives and viewpoints to reveal the inspiration of the past and the spirit of the place. Students found their own way to interpret this theme and discover a variety of structures that bring about thought, reflection, mystery and discovery.
This year, 156 photographs were entered into the competition, hosted each year by the Bousquet Holstein law firm. Cash prizes were awarded to the top four finalists. The first place winner’s artwork is featured on the firm’s Thanksgiving card. Additionally, the first place winner receives a cash prize for their high school’s photography program.
Twenty-two finalists were selected from seven area high schools. C-NS had nine out of the twenty-two final images and took home the prizes for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place.
Kali Ditz, 12th grade Advanced Photography student, won third place in the contest and Jessica Whitney, 12th grade Advanced Photography student, took home awards for both second and first place. Congratulations to all of our finalists and to our winners!

Pictured above: C-NS Intermediate and Advanced Photo Student Finalists in the Bousquet Holstein Photography Contest.
Pictured (L to R): Jillian Lantry, Meredith Hatch, Cassidy Colvin, Marisa Melice, Jessica Whitney, Kali Ditz, Meghan Gaynor, & Mrs. Heather Blaski, C-NS Art Teacher.